My Books

Where to Buy includes a full list of retailers and formats.
Hertling_AVOGADRO_CORP_Ebook

AVOGADRO CORP
The Singularity is Closer than it Appears
Singularity Series Book 1

Avogadro Corp is a techno-thriller that explores how artificial intelligence will emerge and how humanity will respond to it.

When the ELOPe project is threatened to be cancelled because of server shortages, David makes a subtle change to the software allowing it to secretly modify company emails to ensure the success of the project. Soon ELOPe is social engineering people around the company to get more servers allocated to it, to modify other software to expand its own capabilities, and to neutralize threats. As David and his coworkers slowly realize what’s happening, they take ever escalating actions to shut ELOPe down, only to find the software is always one step ahead of them.

Science Fiction Book of the Year — Foreword Reviews, 2011
Winner Science Fiction — DIY Book Festival, 2011-2012

Available in paperback, ebook, and audio: KoboAmazon, Smashwords, Audible.

Hertling_AiApocalypse_Ebook

A.I. APOCALYPSE
Singularity Series Book 2

Leon Tsarev is a high school student set on getting into a great college program, until his uncle coerces him into developing a new computer virus for the Russian mob’s botnet—the slave army of computers they used to commit digital crimes.

The evolutionary virus Leon creates, based on biological principles, is a little too successful, infecting all the world’s computers. Everything from cars, payment systems, computers, and smart phones stop functioning, and with them go essential functions including emergency services, transportation, and the food supply. Billions of people may die.

But evolution never stops. The virus continues to change, developing intelligence, communication, and finally an entire civilization of A.I. called the Phage. Some may be friendly to humans, but others most definitely are not.

Leon and his companions must race against time and the military to find a way to either befriend or eliminate the Phage and restore the world’s computer infrastructure.

Nominated for the Prometheus Award for Best Novel, 2012

Available in paperback, ebook, and audio: KoboAmazon, Smashwords, and Audible. Buy it today!

Hertling_TheLastFirewall_Ebook

THE LAST FIREWALL
Singularity Series Book 3

In the year 2035, robots, artificial intelligences, and neural implants have become commonplace. The Institute for Ethics keeps the peace, using social reputation to ensure that robots and humans don’t harm society or each other. But a powerful AI named Adam has found a way around the restrictions.

Catherine Matthews, nineteen years old, has a unique gift: the ability to manipulate the net with her neural implant. Yanked out of her perfectly ordinary life, Catherine becomes the last firewall standing between Adam and his quest for world domination.

Available from KoboAmazon Kindle, Amazon paperback, and elsewhere.
PRAISE FOR THE LAST FIREWALL
“Awesome near-term science fiction.” – Brad Feld, Foundry Group managing director
“An insightful and adrenaline-inducing tale of what humanity could become and the machines we could spawn.” – Ben Huh, CEO of Cheezburger
“A fun read and tantalizing study of the future of technology: both inviting and alarming.” – Harper Reed, former CTO of Obama for America, Threadless
“A fascinating and prescient take on what the world will look like once computers become smarter than people. Highly recommended.” – Mat Ellis, Founder & CEO Cloudability
“A phenomenal ride through a post-scarcity world where humans are caught between rogue AIs. If you like having your mind blown, read this book!” – Gene Kim, author of The Phoenix Project: A Novel About IT, DevOps, and Helping Your Business Win
The Last Firewall is like William Gibson had a baby with Tom Clancy and let Walter Jon Williams teach it karate. Superbly done.” – Jake F. Simons, author of Wingman and Train Wreck.

Hertling_TheTuringException_Ebook

THE TURING EXCEPTION
Singularity Series Book 4

In the year 2043, humans and AI coexist in a precarious balance of power enforced by a rigid caste reputation system designed to ensure that only those AI who are trustworthy and contribute to human society increase in power.

Everything changes when a runaway nanotech event leads to the destruction of Miami. In the grim aftermath, a powerful underground collective known as XOR concludes that AI can no longer coexist with humanity.

AI pioneers Catherine Matthews, Leon Tsarev, and Mike Williams believe that mere months are left before XOR starts an extermination war. Can they find a solution before time runs out?

Buy nowAmazon Kindle and Paperback. (Kobo, iTunes, and other retailers coming soon.)

PRAISE FOR THE SINGULARITY NOVELS

“A tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez’s Daemon and Freedom(TM), William’s book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It’s a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines.” –Brad Feld, managing director Foundry Group, cofounder TechStars

“I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night.” – Gene Kim, author of Visible Ops and The Phoenix Project

“A terrific, and stunningly believable, account of how the first sentient artificial intelligence might accidently arise.” –Jeff Weiss, senior web architect

“Avogadro Corp is a fascinating look at how simple and benign advancements in technology could lead to the surprise arrival of the first AI. And like all good techno-thrillers, the reality of AI is less than ideal.” –Jason Glaspey, founder paleoplan.com, bacn.com, unthirsty.com

“This is a highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don’t start without the time to finish — it won’t let you go.” –Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author of The Intelligent Organization

“HAL, the self aware CPU from 2001 a Space Odyssey, is a kitten compared to ELOPe.” –Shawn Chesser, author of Trudge and Soldier On (Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse series)

AVAILABILITY

See Where to Buy for the full list of retailers and formats.

If you’d like to see sample excerpts from the Singularity Series, other writings on artificial intelligence, and be kept up to date on my writing, please sign up for my mailing list:

join my mailing list: